Gazpacho and Sangria anyone?

With summer bounty in full swing, I thought I would share two of my favorites since I am getting ready to make them both!

First, this Gazpacho recipe is one that I got from my late dear sister-in-law Ursula. While she was alive we loved to share recipes, and this was one of her best. I will be thinking of her as I make the soup while we are at the beach!

Gazpacho Soup

4 cups cold tomato juice (I always use V-8)

1 small well minced onion

2 cups freshly diced tomato

1 cup minced green pepper

1 teaspoon honey

1 clove crushed garlic (or powder)

1 diced cucumber

2 chopped scallions

Juice of ½ lemon, ½ lime

2 tablespoons wine vinegar

1 teaspoon tarragon

1 teaspoon basil

Dash dried cumin

¼ cup freshly chopped parsley

Dash Tabasco sauce

2 tablespoons olive oil

Salt/pepper to taste

Mix and chill 2 hours prior to serving

Enjoy with a glass of “Janet’s Sangria”:

I had never tried or even heard of Sangria until just a few years ago. As you may know, Sangria is a Spanish drink of red wine mixed with lemonade, fruit, and spices. I wondered if it could be something easy to make for parties, so I looked for recipes online. As I tend to be someone who makes adaptations to recipes on a regular basis, I found myself tweaking this one and that. I ended up with something that won me accolades from my friend Tom who says it is the best he has ever had!  While I know there is a distinct possibility that Tom may not be very well traveled let alone much of a connoisseur of Sangria, I will take the compliment–because I like it too!  Anticipating my week at the beach, I found my smeary piece of paper with the ingredient list scrawled on it. I think I should preserve it in cyberspace, so why not here on my blog?

Below is my recipe you might try at your next party. I usually end up doubling this recipe (or, I admit, tripling or quadrupling!) since it is a 2 day process and anything left over doesn’t last too long. (Hint: A Bota box full of RedVolution wine is exactly four times this recipe. A bottle of wine is about 750 ml or 3 cups)

Ingredients:

Pomegranate juice

1 bottle red wine

½ cup triple sec

¼ fruit brandy (I often use apricot)

2 oranges

2 lemons

2 limes

About a cup of cherries

A handful of other berries

I can 7-up

The night before serving:

Fill an ice cube tray with pomegranate juice and freeze. Pour wine, triple sec, brandy into a large pitcher. Juice 1 lemon, 1  lime and 1 orange and add to pitcher Slice 1 lemon, 1 lime and 1 orange and add slices to pitcher. Pit and slice cherries and add to pitcher. Add sliced berries Put pitcher in refrigerator overnight

Just before serving: Strain out fruit pieces if desired.  Add frozen pomegranate juice cubes and can of 7-Up.

Put on some Salsa music and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

